University of Medicine and Pharmacy Cluj-Napoca

  • University of Medicine and Pharmacy Cluj-Napoca


Faculty of Pharmacy Cluj-Napoca

The pharmaceutical training in Cluj-Napoca dates back to the foundation of the Medical Faculty of the Ferencz Josef University in 1872. The department for Pharmacy was a part of the Faculty from the beginning.

The first phase of the pharmaceutical training in Cluj is dated between 1872 and 1919. The second phase took place from 1919 to 1934. Back then, the Institute of Pharmacy, a unit which belonged to the Medical Faculty of the King Ferdinand I University, was expanded and re-named into the Faculty of Medicine and Pharmacy.

In 1948, the Faculty of Pharmacy became a facility of the university system of the Institute for Medicine and Pharmacy. Prof. Dr. Erwin Popper was the first dean of the Faculty, from 1948 to 1958.

Nowadays, highly qualified pharmacists and researchers are trained in pharmaceutical sciences at the Faculty of Pharmacy, which represents a valuable resource for the field of pharmacy. The Faculty stands out in its national context thanks to its constant effort to apply the newest discoveries and teaching methods, as well as through its integration in the European education and research networks.

Our graduates work for international research companies or professional associations.
Lectures in French have been offered since the year 2000.